Screen shot 2012-04-22 at 21.52.35

RvP wins Player of the Year as The Ox misses out

Robin van Persie has been named as the 2012 PFA Player of the Year, while Kyle Walker was named Young Player of the Year.

Van Persie was also the only Arsenal player to make it into the team of the year, compared to 3 last year (Bacary Sagna, Samir Nasri and Jack Wilshere).

I am upset that Yaya Touré made it into the team ahead of Alex Song, although as an Arsenal fan I am undoubtedly quite biased. Song has been outstanding this season and deserves a lot of credit for his performances.

The fact that Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain missed out on Young Player of the Year is not a huge surprise. The Ox has not been given enough of an opportunity to really show what he is capable of this season having made only 6 league starts. However, I would have picked Danny Welbeck over Kyle Walker. Just saying.

Despite only scoring 1 goals in his last 7 league games, van Persie is also still on target to pick up the coveted Premier League Golden Boot. The Dutchman is currently on 27 league goals, 3 ahead of Wayne Rooney on 24. With only 3 games left in the season, RvP is just 4 goals short of the record set by Christiano Ronaldo in the 2007/08 season.*

*Ronaldo’s record is for a 38-game season. Alan Shearer and Andy Cole both scored 34 goals back when the season had 42 games. 

One important thing to remember is that the PFA awards are voted for all the way back in February. This means that form towards the end of the season is irrelevant. The fact that Wayne Rooney seems to be scoring for fun at the moment and Robin is not as prolific didn’t make a difference. That said, Robin deserves to win it anyway!

Speaking to the Press Association, Robin said that he felt honoured to have been picked for the award and thanked his fellow Arsenal teammates for all their support:

“If other people are saying it, it is special, but it is even more special if your opponents are saying it.

“It is very special because you are playing against them week in, week out and every single player does everything to win, and in the end, if they make up their minds that I’m the best player, it is a big honour.

“Thanks Arsenal, my team mates, colleagues, my family and of course my friends and fans for this magnificent award. It’s a real honour!

“Without them I could not have achieved it. For example, Theo Walcott, he has given me more than 12 assists and I do really appreciate that.”

PFA Team of the Year

Joe Hart, Kyle Walker, Vincent Kompany, Fabricio Coloccini, Leighton Baines, Yaya Toure, David Silva, Parker, Wayne Rooney and Van Persie.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>